IP.Board Themes© Fisana

Photo
- - - - -

Polistes dominula (European Paper Wasp) - First Serious Attempt at Keeping Wasps as pets. I want some pointers and/or suggestions.

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 burbles

burbles

Venom Rookie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 16 May 2012 - 07:47 PM

This is my second time keeping wasps as pets -- and I have learned a lot since I first tried last year. They are easy to keep, but the cage I had them in sucked and I eventually stopped doing it since I wasn't totally dedicated/prepared to keep the wasps like I am this time...
So I am a newb when it comes to keeping wasps -- but I am going to do it right so I am going to update and share my project here.

Before I go down a bad path... I would love for someone to poke a few holes in it to improve my project. So here are my plans...

My goal is to get the biggest, happiest, and most thriving European Paper Wasp nest possible. I want it to have a few hundred cells and hopefully a hundred or more wasps by the end of the year.

This is what I am going to be doing, and I will keep it all updated.

1. Build Cage -- see picture below. It is a wooden box that is 2ft by 2ft by 2ft. The top and bottom are solid pieces of wood, and the spaces between are fitted with a metal screen.
The bottom has hinges and opens by having the cage lift above it. This was done to prevent escapes but allowing me to feed them -- there will also be another door in the screen ... probably. (if I find it is needed) -- the screen will be secured to the wood by staples.

2. Hot glue a wasp nest to a semi-dome area that makes them feel safe... this slight dome area is hot glued to the ceiling of the wasp cage. The starting wasp nest will have about 3-7 larvea/pupea on it, and one Queen foundress.