IP.Board Themes© Fisana

Photo

GIANT NESTS OF SOCIAL WASPS (YELLOWJACKETS, HORNETS, & PAPER WASPS)

• Please log in to reply
175 replies to this topic

#1 Hornetboy

Hornetboy

MASTER NEST COLLECTOR

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,671 posts

Posted 18 May 2007 - 03:25 AM

PLEASE NOTE THAT MOST OF THE PREVIOUSLY POSTED PICS IN THIS THREAD ARE NO LONGER HERE AS A RESULT OF A SERVER CHANGE. YOU CAN SEE THE UPDATED NEST COLLECTION PICS BY CLICKING ON THIS LINK HERE:

http://www.venomlist...showtopic=27926

Hello, any fellow wasp lovers who are here!

Please allow me to introduce myself. This is my biography:

I am an expert on social wasps (as a hobby). I have an intense passion for the genus Dolichovespula (generally aerial-nesting yellowjackets). I specialize in the bald-faced "hornet" (D. maculata). However... I also love Polistes (common paper wasps), Vespa (true hornets), and Vespula (generally subterranean-nesting yellowjackets). I think their beautiful nests are masterpieces of nature! I love collecting abandoned GIANT nests for my collection (The bigger the better!). I usually purchase the nests online. I am always looking for more impressive nests to add to my collection. Please let me know if you have access to any. If you don't currently know where any nests are, then please keep me in mind for the future from now on (Thanks!).